Contact Us

Amel Larrieux Reveals ‘Ice Cream Everyday’ Tracklist

Amel Larrieux Ice Cream Everyday
Bliss Life

Amel Larrieux is gearing up to release her new album, ‘Ice Cream Everyday.’ The R&B songbird just released the tracklist for the LP, which is her first in over six years.

Her latest single, ‘Afraid,’ co-produced by her husband, Laru Larrieux, is a soulful summer ballad in the tradition of her previous tunes ‘For Real’ and ‘All I Got.’

The album itself boasts 16 tracks and no features. No features?! This could be a first in the R&B game. But if you know Larrieux’s pedigree, she doesn’t need anyone on her songs — her vocal prowess is powerful enough.

In an interview with, the former Groove Theory artist says the title of the album is not about her love for ice cream but a metaphoric meaning to life.

“The title grew out of a conversation Laru and I were having, and it actually is much more metaphoric and totally apropos,” she explained. “This was four years ago, I was having a day, and I was like, “Ugh, I just wish I could eat ice cream everyday!”  And he was like, ‘That’s the title of the album!'”

“But in the interim, I found out I was completely lactose-intolerant and I actually couldn’t eat ice cream everyday,” she continued. “So I have to replace it with something else, and what is that thing I’m gonna find? The way the album reflects how I explained the title is very authentic. If you look at ‘Ice Cream Everyday’ literally, you won’t necessarily get it. But if you look at it metaphorically, I think you’ll hear it because the songs have this range.  I’m definitely referencing spiritual things, metaphysical things, and things people might consider Buddhist or Yogic philosophies. But it’s in a totally accessible and human questioning way.”

Amel Larrieux’s fifth solo album, ‘Ice Cream Everyday,’ is due in stores Aug. 27.

Amel Larrieux’s ‘Ice Cream Everyday’ Tracklist:

1. ‘Afraid’
2. ‘I Do Take’
3. ‘You Don’t See Me’
4. ‘A Million Sapphires’
5. ‘Ut the Shhh’
6. ‘Berries and Cream’
7. ‘Danger’
8. ‘Moment to Reflect’
9. ‘Have You’
10. ‘Orange Glow’
11. ‘See Where You Are’
12. ‘Don’t Let Me Down’
13. ‘Trapped Being Human’
14. ‘I Do Take 2′
15. Soon
16. Danger 2

Next: Amel Larrieux Unveils 'Ice Cream Everyday' LP Cover, Pens Essay

Listen to Amel Larrieux’s ‘Afraid’

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Recommended For You

Around the Web

Best of TheDrop

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!